Compound – Steam Chests


Steam Chests

Hello Ladeys and Gentlemen.

Now it’s time to take care of the steam chest. This is a very important piece of the steam engine, it’s truly the heart of the steam engine.

I’ll begin with the cover. The cover has a spigot on the backside so it’s very easy to set up in the lathe.

Steam_Chests009

Here I have set up the cover in my lathe for removing the cast skins.

Steam_Chests010

After that I move the cover to my mill so I can mill the side in square.

Steam_Chests011

Then with a hacksaw I cut of the spigot.

Steam_Chests012

Then flatten the backside.

Steam_Chests013

Now I have to mark out for all holes…

Steam_Chests015

… and drilled the holes and countersink the holes.

Steam_Chests016

I feel quite pleased with the result.

Steam_Chests019

I’ll continue with the steam chests. In the lathe I set up the steam chest in a four jaw chuck and took some turn on the top making the valve rod guide…

Steam_Chests020

… and the bottom for the packing gland.

Steam_Chests021

With a good fill I smooth the packing gland.

Moving over to the mill for milling both sides to the steam chest…

Steam_Chests022

Then I milled both sides…

Steam_Chests023

… and the insides as well.

Steam_Chests025

And now I have four pieces so far.

Steam_Chests026

Next, drilling the holes for the valve rod guide…

Steam_Chests027

…and then using an end mill for the packing gland.

Steam_Chests028

After that I drilled the hole for the steam inlet.

Steam_Chests029

A new setup so I could drill the hole into the steam chest.

Steam_Chests031

After two holes I’ll use bolt and nuts to hold the two pieces together.

Steam_Chests032

And here we go.

Steam_Chests033

Then, using the cover I drilled the holes in the cylinder block…

Steam_Chests034

…and threaded the cylinder block with help of a top hat.

Steam_Chests035

The stem chest with the cover seams to fits very well.

Steam_Chests036

Next, the packing glands.

Steam_Chests037

First I have to cutting of the pieces…

Steam_Chests038

…and the in the lathe for some turns, flatten one side and center drill /drilled a hole.

Steam_Chests039

Then I use a spigot so I could turn the other side.

Steam_Chests040

Marking for the holes for the stud, then threaded and then drilling through …

Steam_Chests041

Steam_Chests042

…and after some good work with my fill I have to check so it fits well.

Steam_Chests043

No it’s time for the valve roads.

Steam_Chests044

After cutting the parts I took some turn in the lathe and threaded the valve roads …

Steam_Chests045

…in both end.

Steam_Chests046

And now there is to more pieces to the steam chest.

Steam_Chests047

Next, the valve.

Steam_Chests049

First in the mill I flatted both sides…

Steam_Chests050

…trying to have a smooth side on the valve.

Steam_Chests051

Then drilled throe …

Steam_Chests052

…and then mill a track in the valve.

Steam_Chests053

And now two more pieces finish.

Steam_Chests054

Then I cut of a piece of bras…

Steam_Chests055

…and mark up for a hole to be drilled…

Steam_Chests056

…and threaded…

Steam_Chests057

…and again check for fitting.

Steam_Chests058

Then with a hacksaw and a fill I’ll got this…

Steam_Chests059

…and it fits well in the steam chest.

Steam_Chests061

And now another piece is finish.

Steam_Chests062

This update took some times, it was radar many pieces to make and they have to be accurate, but nothing bad happened so I am very pleased over this update.

I’ll be back.

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Compound – Steam Chests

  1. Rickard says:

    Looks really good Benni.
    It will be a real masterpiece.

  2. unka says:

    Nice work dad.

Leave a Reply

