Compound – Connecting Roads


Connecting rod

Hello Ladeys and Gentlemen.
At last I found some time to continue my build of Stuarts Compound Engine.  This time it’s the connecting rod, and it is a very important part of the engine. They have to be in straight line, square and the dimension must be exact.

Here is the casting of the connecting road, as you can see there is plenty of material to remove.

First I have to square the bottom end with an end mill.

And after that I have to draw out and mark where the holes for the crankshaft should
be.

Next I drilled the top and bottom end…

… and this is for my set up in my lathe.

It shows up that this set up was not so good idea, so I changed to this.

And now I could finish some parts on the lathe.

Then I drilled some holes for the bolt before I partial bottom end in two parts.

Then I use  a hacksaw…

…and there was two parts of each connecting roads.

Next I drilled the hole for the crankshaft.

And some more turn on the lathe.

This set up looks crazy but it is to help me drilling the holes square for connecting to the crosshead.

After that some milling.

Here I try to round off the top part.

And here we go, two connecting roads are finish.

And then I mounted the connecting roads on the engine.

This was a little tricky to do but another part is finish,  but still there is a lot more to do.

I’ll be back

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

