Compound – Drain Cocks


Drain Cocks.

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen.

You may think I’m a little crazy but I have decided to continue this building blog with the drain cocks. This is a tip from my Canadian friend Mr. John Bentley. The drain cocks are very important equipment for the live steam engine. Its main task is to prevent the water stays in the cylinder, so it must be opened on when you start the machine, and then close it. Similarly when to stop the machine, you have to open to prevent water stay left in the cylinder.

First I start up with a brass bar and a small drawing how the body should be…

…then some turn on the lathe for the threading…

…and then I did the threading.

Then I drilled a hole …

…and some more turns on the lathe so I got this shape.

Here I test so the threading is correct.

And here I have done all four of them.

In the drill I needed to find the center…

…and then the middle…

…then drill the hole.

Of silver steel I made a tapered reamer so I can have a tapered hole…

…and finish off with a bottom pin for a fine surfers.

Here are the finish bodies.

And now I have to deal with the plug, first in the lathe and run a few turn for the threading…

…and for tapping…

…and some more turns on the lathe…

…then threading.

Then I have to check so the plug fits well in the body.

Then I have to bend it with some heat.

Then I have to make some washers, springs and nuts.

Then I mount the drain cock and put it in the drill so I can drill true the plug.

And here all of the drain cocks are mounted on the cylinder block.

This was a very fun equipment to make not so hard to do, but very small.

I’ll be back. 

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Compound – Drain Cocks

Leave a Reply

