Compound – Bottom Covers


Bottom Covers

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen.

The story goes on, now it’s time for the bottom covers.

First I set up the casting in my lathe…

…and clean the edge and make sure that the dimension is correct.

Then I clean up the bottom and center drilled…

…and drilled and reamed the hole for the piston rods.

After that I’ll use an end mille so I could get a seat for road glands for the piston rod.

Here is the bottom of the HP and LP bottom cover finish.

No the other side of the bottom cover, some turns on the lathe and its finish.

The finish bottom cover.

Now I have to find the centerline and the middle between the HP and LP cylinder…

…and then drill a hole.

Now I have the distance so I can continue on my round table.

After drilling and easy using an end mille both cover is now finish.

Then I marked up where to drill on the cylinder block.

Then threading the hole…

…and mount the studs.

After that I remove some materials so the covers fit together.

And then I have to check so I could mount the bottom cover to the cylinder block.

And now the machine has both hats and pants on.

Bottom Cover

Both the top cover and the bottom cover were a little tricky to maintain, but I took my time and so far I can’t see that I have done some wrong.  I hope that I never got to see that…

I’ll be back.

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

