Compound – Cylinder block


Hello Laddies and Gentlemen!

Now when I have got my new tools, it’s time for me to move on with the cylinder block.

As you can see on the picture there is much material to remove.

The first thing is too straight up the bottom so I have something to work from…

…and with an end mill it is done radar quickly.

I then did the top at the same time and finish off with a fly cutter.

Then I did the sides…

… and even here I finish off with the fly cutter.

Then I did some more work with the end mill.

I took this photo true my magnifying lamp, when I marked up for the columns…

…and I can see that the column fits very well with my smaller nuts.

After that I marked up the centerline…

…and I can at last use my new tool, the boring head. I began with the HP cylinder.

Then I have to reaming the HP cylinder…

…and finish of with honing the HP cylinder.

Then it’s time for the LP cylinder, first using the borring head.

Then reaming the LP cylinder, this time I have to use my lathe…

After horning the LP cylinder I marked out the hole for the drain cocks, then drilled and threaded the hole.

I feel radar pleased so far.

Now it’s time to take care of the steam exhaust from the HP cylinder…

…and with an end mill I finish the steam passage.

So far so good, but it’s still long way to go.

Cylinder block

The cylinder block was radar hard to do, many dimensions that must fit, and everything have to be straight, but I think that I have manage that…

I’ll be back.

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

