Compound – Crankshaft


Now to the crankshaft.

I am sorry, I use to take a lot of picture, but I have forgot some in the beginning.

I cut off tree pieces of 8 mm silver steel, one 150 mm, and two 19.1 mm. On the small ones I turned down a 4.95 mm long edge to 7 mm at both ends.

Then I cut off four pieces of mild steel…

Crankshaft

…and market out and drill two holes, one 8 mm and one 7 mm. I drilled undersize
and reamed to correct size.

Then some turns in the lathe so I could get a smooth radio…

… and back to the mil for drilling holes for the pins.
After that I assembled all the pieces…

… and drilled the holes for the pins, mount the pins and soldered the pieces together.

And here we go, we have a crankshaft. I know that many people preform to turn the crankshaft in the lathe, I have tried that a couple of times so I took it safe rather than sorry.

So far so god but…

I’ll be back

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

