Compound – Soleplate


Hello Ladies and Gentlemen.

This project will take a long time for me to build. It’s complicated and everything needs to take good care.

All measurements are in inches so I have to convert them to mm.

The first picture shows the Soleplate from the top…

Soleplate

..and the next from the bottom.

The first was to use a flat file to smooth over the bottom and some milling.
Then check out where all the holes, and fixes the midline.

I was using a center drill to mark out the midline, and then I have to drill for the columns…

… and for the main bearings.

After that I have to smooth the surface…

… and even some milling on the edges…

… and the bottom.

Then it’s was necessary to use a flat file emery cloth and a bit polish.

So far I am quite happy with the result.  I have measured and measured again, but things seem to measure up. The soleplate is very important, everything here  must be correct otherwise I think I will have some problem..

I’ll be back.

 

 

About Benni Svensson

I am an happy retired man with many interest. I have been building models in my whole life, everything from aircraft to regal ship. I have build steam engine before, but now, I'll got plenty of time...
This entry was posted in Stuarts Compound and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

